I posted earlier about being on a payment plan for my water bill. Well, it turns out that is not exactly true! My boyfriend woke up on Monday morning, went to refill the cats' water dish and discovered that we had no water. He called the water company and according to the very rude woman he talked to, we defaulted on our payment plan.
I called back and spoke to a different man. According to him, once you create a payment plan with our city, the department is under no obligation to notify you of anything pertaining to the bill. He said that the woman who setup the payment plan, should have told us that our first payment was due October 20. She did not and I know because I am the one who called. Our water department doesn't even have to warn you when they are coming to turn it off after a payment plan!
Also, because of the "payment plan", we could not make any type of arrangement. Luckily, I had a payment coming in on Tuesday, but we still spent Monday without any water. I also discovered that they added more to the bill from the last tenants! Apparently the $90 was an "estimate" and when they did a final read in July, they added an additional $105 to that total. Our water bill was $240, so only $135 was ours. Needless to say, the landlord is not getting his total rent check.
I did get some other bills, so at least now I know who I owe what to. My November goals are now updated.
Rent: $565
Electric: $107
Gas: $81
Internet/Cable: $162
That now comes to $915, which is a little less than my earlier estimate. I'm also hoping to put back some money for Christmas this month, or at least get a few gifts purchased.
No comments:
Post a Comment